Categories
Fresh Meet

Jasmine Garcia

On top of studying ceramic, Jaz is looking forward to fine tuning her craft and knowledge of the fine arts. Jaz believes in the power of community, she hopes to make some solid connections within both the School of Art and Design and the Alfred village. Jaz is heavily inspired by her Mexican heritage, she is deeply interested in her culture and history. Jaz’s favorite artist is ever-changing, but right now she is drawn to Jorge Gutierrez. . If Jaz could collaborate with any artist in the world it would be Tim Burton. She admires his ability to convey dark imagery with lighthearted subject matter. She thinks that, together, they could put together an idea based on Mexican folklore.

Check out Jaz on Instagram! @jaz.garcia217

A Tower to Climb, A Home to Find
14 ” x 17″, charcoal, watercolor, marker, ink, pencil 2019,
“This piece is inspired by a large stack of books I have sitting in my bedroom. Throughout the years I would collect flowers and save them within these book pages, almost marking a memory of that moment in time. Instead of a traditional still life, I wanted to push this study to be more creative and involve one of my passions of collecting and preserving nature.”
Una Fiesta
9″ x 12″, Ink, copic markers 2019
“I’m very proud of my Mexican heritage, and each year as I get older I fall more and more in love with who I am. One of my favorite holidays is Dia Los Muertos. I was playing with more abstract concepts with the colors used and wanted to convey a fiesta, with papel picado and bright all around me, whilst the portrait itself remains very solid concrete.”

By Robert C. Turner Student Gallery

A student run and envisioned gallery at the New York State School of Ceramics at Alfred University.

Leave a comment